Sunday, March 29, 2015

Honor Rolls and Scholarship awards 6/28

Honor Rolls and Scholarship awards 6/28
Tuesday, June 28, 2011 - 11:04

South Bend Junior/Senior High School

Fourth quarter honor roll


12th grade: Samantha Hess, Taylor Nussbaum and Brett Rose.

11th grade: Olivia Nisbet

9th grade: Dennis Johnson, Zane Johnson, Matthew Lewis, Katlyn Sawyer and Raven Stoney.

8th grade: Allison Hill, Nichole Manlow, Elijah Meredith, Allison Ogren and Angelica Vazquez.

7th grade: Emily Quan and Tessa Wilson.


12th grade: Lisa Manlow, Thinh Oneprachanh, Heidi Elliott, Lyndsay Dickey, Amber Lorton, Vanessa Eang, Nathan Shute, Timothy Ariss, Chelsea Dockter, Olivia Giacoma, Tiffany Powell, Daniel Hardin, Kyle Hillery, Anthony Acrey, Terrell Boyes, Caitlyn Burbank, Ryan Vongmixay, Rosa Rojas, Kyle Geiger, Rebecca Manlow, Tayler McGee, Morgan Thomas and Brittney Hamilton.

11th grade: Kayla Passolt, Levi Bale, Jesse Eastham and Maxwell Davis.

10th grade: Jake Funkhouser, Emily Burbank, Myranda Curtis, Sopie Lee, Kenadee Miller, Whitley Woods, Lakyn From, Sandra Leon, Zaudy Meliton, Rachael Black, Michaela Eastham, Bailey Houk, Shawntelle Moncy, Michael Hoerr, McKenzie Bowling, Evan Hagerth, Agustin Diaz, Cynthia Jauregui, Brook Viraphonh and Bryson Ogilvie.

9th grade: Emily Seaman, Andrew Spoor, Leila Edwards, Yoselin Leon Saucedo, Makenzie Russell, Kathryn Staats, Kaelani Collins, Kessa Wilson, Jenna Dokter, Dalyn Ogilvie, Justin Elliott, Jennifer Frank and Alexis Thomas.

8th grade: Emily Sanchez, Miles Davis, Morgan Patterson, Emma Lorton, Tammi Kousonhsavath, Brenda Leon, Rebeca Santos, Alison Willisams, Rielly Myers and Jennifer Meliton.

7th grade: Kamiryn Heath, Krystal Johnson, Paige Johnson, Alyssa McGill, Allison Funkhouser, Kellyann Graves, Yessenia Perez, Edith Razo, Taylor Conner, Bryan Harrison, Pandora Bills, Jose Bucio Taci Madsen and Lauren Anderson.


12th grade: Tanner McGovern, Heather Stratton, Jessica Anderson and Kristian Burger.

11th grade: Tristan Graves, Matt Wetterauer, Pedro Loza Baltazar and Luis Gonzalez.

10th grade: Dakota Halverson, Shylan McGinnis and Allison Reidt.

9th grade: Haely Wiss, Mary Johnson, Sierra Cearns, Madelyn Klus, Albert Giacoma, Ethan Strozyk, Hannah Thomas and Kaylee Lewis.

8th grade: Patricia Rojas and Austin Lewis.

7th grade: Jordan W. Frank, Thomas Harrison and Kelly Oropeza.

Elma Middle School

Fourth quarter honor roll.


8th Grade: Lorenzo Ayala and Konan Katzer.

7th Grade: Conley Doyle, David Jones and Morgan Rockey.


8th Grade: Kristina Boggs, Benjamin Borden, Nika Brock, Mykah Charette, Megan Choate, Isabella Cristelli, Payton Dineen, Nicole Erb, Tara Frame, Aaron Gaub, Natalie Grant, Wyatt Gray, Dakota Hughes, Peyton Johnson, Caitlynn Julian, Morgan Jump, Lauryn Keating, Darci Knutson, Abigale Mayberry, Riley Mowry, Jeffery Neslon, Seth Osgood, Andrew Palmer, Steven Persell, Valerie Petersen, Adrianna Rupright, Mason Reeves, Maddison Spencer, LeeAnn Thomasson, Martin Torres, Josiah Volz, Lisa Walton, Tristina Whipple and Luna Zang.

7th Grade: Mikayla Beeler, Miranda Carnes, Morgan Finger, Jordaan Hall, Paige Kershaw, Savannah Lemons, Abigail Martinez, Alejandra Martinez, Joseph Palmer, Taylor Peek, Megan Peterson, MiKayla Smith, Karli Smythe, Lukas Starks, Corrie Stewart, Aspen Thompson, Madeline Thompson, Lauren Thompson and Emma Williams.


Mark E. Reed

Local recipients of 2011 Mark E. Reed Scholarships were recently named by the program's Washington Board, according to Kevin Lyle, board chairman. The winners each received $3,000 awards.

This is the 64th year that scholarships have been presented in the memory of Mark E. Reed, who was Simpson Logging Company president from 1914 until his death in 1933. Today, eligible individuals must be Green Diamond employees, sons or daughters of employees, or reside in one of the company's Washington operating communities.

Scholarship recipients included:

Sydney Bullington, a Montesano High School graduate, who plans to attend Peninsula College and major in nursing. Her parents are Zane and Lynda Bullington of Montesano.

Vanessa Rutherford, a senior at Elma High School, will attend Washington State University and major in agriculture and natural resources education. Her parents are Dennis and Teresa Rutherford of Elma.

Tyler Sund is a senior at Elma High School. He plans to major in chemistry at Washington State University. His parents are Dale and Tammy Sund of Elma.

Gillian Whelan is a 2011 graduate from Montesano High School. She will attend the University of Washington to study biomedical engineering. Her parents are Michael Whelan and Jennifer Wieland of Montesano.

Centralia Mudslinger's Motorcycle Club

Two 2011 Montesano High School graduates have each received a $500 scholarship from the Centralia Mudslingers Motorcycle Club.

The club awarded scholarships to Talya Cox and Lucas Cavanah for achieving academic excellence and their participation in the motorcycle club.

This is the second year the club has offered the scholarships.

Built Ford Tough

Sarah E. Lovasz, Aberdeen High School graduate, received a $1,000 Ford Trucks/Built Ford Tough scholarship made available through the National FFA Foundation and administered by the National FFA Organization.

Lovasz was a top 10 graduate of the Class of 2011, a Running Start student with a 3.926 GPA.

She is the daughter of Cari Tikka of Olympia and Aberdeen, Chris Dills of Aberdeen, and Daniel Lovasz of Long Beach, Calif.

She plans to attend Central Washington University where she will study music and pre-med.

Sons of Italy

The Aberdeen Sons of Italy Lodge has awarded two $500 scholarships to two area students.

Ty Ridout, the son of Kevin and Judy Ridout of Montesano and the grandson of Rena Gegen of Aberdeen, graduated Montesano High School this year. He plans to attend South Oregon University to pursue a degree in computer science.

Robbie Chicano is the son of Joe and Connie Chicano of Aberdeen. He is a 2005 graduate of Aberdeen High School. He attended college and played football at the College of the Siskiyous in California for two years.

For the past three seasons Chicano has been an assistant football coach for the Aberdeen Bobcats. He is now attending Grays Harbor College, pursuing a degree in education through City University of Seattle.

Spring BrainTrack

McCleary resident Elie Hartman was awarded a second place and $500 for her essay to the Spring BrainTrack's Teach Scholarship.

Hartman is a junior at Western Washington University.

"Winning this scholarship means more to me than helping pay tuition; it is a symbol that some important people have faith that I will be a successful teacher, which is my life-long goal," Hartman said.

The BrainTrack Teaching Scholarship is offered twice a year for those enrolled in education degree programs and is intended to help future K-12 teachers. Winning essays are chosen for their creativity and usefulness to prospective education students.

Harman is majoring in anthropology/social studies for secondary education and has a 3.91 GPA. Her plans after graduation include teaching English or social studies at struggling schools in large cities.